Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Your Cart  |  Report Abuse
Benet Academy Counseling Department

Welcome to the Benet Academy Counseling Department

We offer comprehensive services to students as they enter high school.  Benet provides professional support to all students throughout their four years. Students are assigned a counselor in their freshman year, and they stay with this counselor through their junior year. Seniors are assigned to college counselors who specialize in the college selection and admission process.  Students begin working with their college counselor during junior year.

Counseling Department Scope of Services

  • Personal/social, academic, college, and career assistance
  • Group guidance sessions on various topics
  • Career speakers program
  • Study skills group for at-risk freshmen and sophomores
  • Transfer student group
  • PSAT, Practice ACT, and AP testing
  • ACT and SAT test preparation and test information
  • Peer tutoring arrangements
  • Consultation/Collaboration with teachers, parents, and administrators
  • Parent programs
  • Counseling and College Counseling Newsletters
  • Information dissemination and communication through announcements, email, Benet Website, Naviance, and Edline Counseling Department pages
  • College Counseling Center – Located on the second floor of St. Joseph’s Hall and open on most school days from 7:30 am - 3:00 pm for students and parents. 
    • College and career information
    • College visits - Over 200 colleges and universities visit Benet's campus each year mainly during the first semester

 

Counseling Department Staff

Ms. Patricia Cunneen
Admin. Asst. & College Visit Scheduling
630-719-2792pcunneen@benet.org
Mr. Gerard Oconer
Counselor (A-G)
630-719-2786
goconer@benet.org
Ms. Nicole Kothe
Counselor (H-N)
630-719-2788nkothe@benet.org
Ms. Debbie Eckert
Director and Counselor (O-Z)
630-719-2789deckert@benet.org
Ms. Amy Wesley
College Counselor (A-G)
630-719-2791awesley@benet.org
Ms. Laura Lundstrom
College Counselor (H-N)
630-719-2790llundstrom@benet.org
Ms. Kendall Hayes
College Counselor (O-Z)
630-719-2787khayes@benet.org


 

 

Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.           
                                                            

Counseling Department Fax Number:
630-991-2352

 

Community Search
Calendar

11/26/2014 » 11/28/2014
Thanksgiving Weekend Holiday (NO CLASSES)

12/5/2014
Special Homeroom Assemblies in Gym

12/7/2014
2014 Benet Academy 5K for the Drive

12/19/2014 » 1/2/2015
Christmas Vacation begins at 3:00 p.m.

Latest News
Online Surveys